Walk into Nature
						Explore its Ecology
Walk into Nature Explore its Ecology

Carbon strategies in forest management

:::
Forests take up 58.53% of the territory in Taiwan, with a stock volume of 358.7 million cubic meters. In terms of forest management, reducing carbon emissions and the greenhouse effect can be addressed through carbon conservation, carbon sequestration, and carbon substitution.

Strategy 1: carbon conservation

Carbon conservation refers to enlarging carbon storage in the forest ecosystem through enhanced land management. This can be achieved by increasing the land coverage or carbon density of forests, no matter if they are natural or artificial. Using forestry products more sustainably can also be helpful. Other practical forest-management methods include strengthening forestation, renewing natural forests, and turning farmland into woodland. These sustainable practices can all help to reinforce carbon conservation.

Strategy 2: carbon sequestration

The goal of carbon sequestration is to reserve carbon pools in forests. It is also aimed at controlling or reducing carbon release in carbon sinks. The relevant practices include setting up conservation zones, controlling forest fire, reducing forest land destruction, improving forest management, and conserving soil. Forest-sequestered carbon can also be kept through non-wood forest product production such as eco-friendly travel. Also, limited logging, forest protection and conservation, and better forest management work (such as less impactful logging, more thorough forestation, and effective use of wood) are helpful. Human interferences such as fire and pests should be kept under control. Unutilized forests will still set carbon back into the atmosphere, and therefore forest harvests, especially those of old-growth forests, should still be ensured.

Strategy 3: carbon substitution

The goal of carbon substitution is to transfer biomass carbon content to products such as structural materials and biofuel, and thus use them to replace petrochemical energy and products, cement, and other construction materials. A similar strategy is to grow short-rotation forest crops. Also, replacing high energy-consuming materials such as steel and cement with durable forestry products or using biofuel can help to reduce the needs of fossil fuel. 

In response to carbon mitigation, the Council of Agriculture under the Executive Yuan reinforces forest carbon management by improving carbon sequestration and conservation of healthy forests, carrying out carbon management policies and carbon economy analyses, and catching up with relevant global trends. 
Visit counts:41 Last updated on:2021-11-04

走進大自然
						探索生態之美
走進大自然 探索生態之美

森林碳管理策略

:::
台灣森林面積佔全島58.53%,蓄積量為358.7百萬立方公尺,森林資源對二氧化碳的減量策略、改善溫室效應,可由碳保存(carbon conservation)、碳吸存(carbon sequestration)、碳替代(carbon substitution)三方面來進行。

策略一:碳吸存

碳吸存係經由加強土地管理,擴大森林生態系碳的貯存。其可透過增加森林面積或提升天然和人工林的碳密度(carbon density),並且亦可增加耐久性林產品的使用來貯存。實際策略可透過加強造林、天然林更新、農地造林等森林永續發展的經營管理策略,增加森林資源的碳吸存。


策略二:碳保存

碳保存之目標在於保存森林資源中已存在的碳庫(carbon pool),亦是防止或減少已經固定在碳匯(carbon sink)中的碳釋放率。行動策略包含:保護區設置、森林火控制、減少林地破壞和改善森林經營、土壤保育多方面達成。另可透過生態旅遊等非林木資源生產的提供,保存森林資源所吸存的碳。此外,控制性伐採、保護森林與森林保育、改進森林經營施業(如減少衝擊性伐木、完善育林作業、有效率的木材使用等)。再者,控制其他人為干擾,如火和病蟲害破壞。然而,林木若不利用,仍會釋放實質的碳量回大氣,為避免或延長森林收穫或轉換(特別是老齡林)可提供最顯著的碳獲益。

策略三:碳替代

碳替代之目標為將森林生質碳轉移至產品(如結構用材與生質燃料),藉以替代石化製品的能源與產品、水泥製品和其他建築材料,此策略也包括栽植短伐期的森林作物。此外,增加耐久性林產品的使用來取代鋼鐵及水泥等高耗能材料,或是使用生質燃料,皆可減少對化石燃料的需求。

因應減量策略,行政院農委會於溫室氣體減量推動方案下,以「健全森林碳管理」為總目標,研擬厚植森林資源增加森林碳量吸存功能、維護森林健康強化碳量保存功能、推動碳管理政策及經濟分析並與國際接軌等政策
瀏覽人次:6617 最後更新日期:2018-05-15