編輯說明

- 一、本局於民國49年2月16日奉令改制,由林產管理局更改為林務局,附屬機構亦由原有之臺北、新竹、臺中、臺南、高雄、臺東、花蓮等7個山林管理所及阿里山、太平山、八仙山、竹東、巒大山、太魯閣、木瓜山等7個林場重新區劃歸併為文山、竹東、大甲、埔里、巒大、玉山、楠濃、恆春、關山、玉里、木瓜、蘭陽、大雪山等13個林區管理處。其中大雪山示範林區管理處原係大雪山林業公司直隸臺灣地區政府,自63年1月裁撤併入本局。民國78年7月1日本局由事業機關奉令改制為公務機關,由原有之13個林區管理處裁併為現制之羅東、新竹、東勢、南投、嘉義、屏東、臺東、花蓮等8個林區管理處;另為森林資源調查及基本圖之測製,設一農林航空測量所。民國88年本局配合省府組織調整,改隸行政院農業委員會。
- 二、本刊共11章:(一)森林資源、(二)造林、(三)保林、(四)防砂治水及林道、(五)自然保育、(六)社區林業、(七)林產處分、(八)森林遊樂、(九)森林鐵路、(十)木材供銷、(十一)員工人數。
- 三、本刊各表有以區域分項者,羅東林區管理處、新竹林區管理處、台北市、台北縣、宜蘭縣、桃園縣、新竹縣、基隆市、新竹市、森林保育處、林業試驗所併為北部。東勢林區管理處、南投林區管理處、苗栗縣、台中縣、彰化縣、南投縣、雲林縣、台中市、台灣大學實驗林管理處、中興大學實驗林管理處、台灣大學附設山地實驗農場併為中部。嘉義林區管理處、屏東林區管理處、高雄市、嘉義縣、台南縣、高雄縣、屏東縣、澎湖縣、嘉義市、台南市、嘉南農田水利會併為南部。台東林區管理處、花蓮林區管理處、台東縣、花蓮縣併為東部。
- 四、 本刊中凡事實不詳者,均以「…」表示之,無該項事實者以「一」表示之, 數值不及半單位者以「①」表示之。
- 五、本刊各表動態資料係以1月1日至12月31日為起訖日期,靜態資料係以12月31日為準。
- 六、 本刊加用英文附註,以便於國外人士參考。
- 七、 本刊之數字摘自林業有關機關及北、高兩直轄市、各縣市政府,如有差誤, 尚希有關單位及參閱人士來函指正,以匡不逮。
- 八、 本刊各項數字如與前期所列有出入者,係經修正數字,請均以本刊為準。

INTRODUCTORY NOTES

- 1. The Forestry Bureau was reorganized in Feb. 16, 1960 from Taiwan Forest Administration. Its dependent organizations originally include seven district offices, namely Taipei, Hsinchu, Taichung, Tainan, Kaohsiung, Taitung, and Hualien together with seven Logging Stations, such as Alishan, Taipingshan, Basianshan, Jhudong, Luanta, Taroko and Mukuashan, which were reorganized and mingled with the above mentioned seven forest district offices into 13 forest districts namely Wunshan, Jhudong, Dajia, Puli, Luanta, Yushan, Nannung, Hengchun, Guanshan, Yuli, Mukua, Lanyang and Dasyueshan. Of these 13 forest districts, in 1974, Dasyueshan Demonstration Forest District was cut down and merge into F.B.. The Forestry Bureau has become a government budgeted administrative agency since July 1, 1989. The original 13 forest districts was reorganized into current 8 forest districts offices named Luodong, Hsinchu, Dongshih, Nantou, Chiayi, Pingtung, Taitung and Hualien. For forest resources survey and aerial photogrammetry, this bureau, has set up the Aerial Survey Office, furthermore, and has been subject to the Council of Agriculture, Executive Yuan since 1999.
- 2. This book includes the following eleven parts:
 - (1) Forest Resources
 - (2) Reforestation
 - (3) Forest Protection
 - (4) Hillside Stabilization, Disaster Prevention & Forest Road
 - (5) Nature Conservation
 - (6) Community Forestry
 - (7) Disposal of Forest Products
 - (8) Forest Recreation
 - (9) Forest Railway
 - (10) Timber Supply and Sale
 - (11) Number of Employee
- 3. Each table is formerly distinguished by Four districts namely: North, Middle, South, East applied in this book for the convenience of comparision:

District	Agency & Area
North	Luodong, Hsinchu F.D.O., Taipei City, Taipei, Yilan, Taoyuan, Hsinchu
	Counties, Keelung, Hsinchu Cities, F. C. E. A., Forestry Research Institute
Middle	Dongshih, Nantou F.D.O., Miaoli, Taichung, Changhua, Nantou, Yunlin
	Counties, Taichung City, NTU Experimental F.O., NCHU Experimental
	F.O., NTU Experimental U.F.
South	Chiayi, Pingtung F.D.O., Kaohsiung City, Chiayi, Tainan, Kaohsiung,
	Pingtung, Penghu Counties, Chiayi, Tainan Cities, Chianang Agriculture &
	Water Development C.
East	Taitung, Hualien F.D.O., Taitung, Hualien Counties

- 4. The following symbols are used: "···" for figure not available, "—" for none, "0" for less than a half unit value.
- 5. The dynamic data began from Jan. 1 to the end of the year. The static data were based on the end of the year.
- 6. In order to facilitate reference for the statisticians of foreign countries, the Yearbook is written on a bilingual basis.
- 7. The data of this Yearbook were adopted from the forestry agencies, Taipei and Kaohsiung Cities and County (City) governments. If any errata are found, please write to us for revision.
- 8. In case of any figures are different from those appeared in previous editions, statistical figures being revised, figures in this edition are preferable.