Bathe Under the Sun
						Feel Nature's Vibes
Bathe Under the Sun Feel Nature's Vibes

Global warming & international protocols

:::
Since the Industrial Revolution, people have consumed  a large amount of fossil fuels. This has resulted in a huge increase of carbon dioxide in the Earth’s atmosphere, the worsening of global warming, and eventually climate change. Experts have estimated that global warming will cause arctic and antarctic ice caps and high-mountain glaciers to melt, sea levels to rise, and new climate types and extreme weather such as droughts and floods to rise. Climate change can severely affect the growing of crops, too.
Since climate change takes place rather slowly and carbon dioxide can linger for more than a hundred years in the atmosphere, even though people have largely reduced the use of fossil fuels today, the Earth can still hugely suffer from global warming due to carbon emissions in the past. The severity must be addressed to. In a special report published by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) in 2018, in the last hundred years, the global mean temperature has increased by 0.8℃~1.2℃. And if carbon dioxide continues to be as dense as it is, by the mid 21st Century, the global surface temperature will rise by 1.5~2℃ compared to that of the 19th Century. The results will likely include rising sea levels, extreme weather such as torrential rain or droughts, and an ill-distribution of water resources. As global warming worsens, the world’s governments should also keep the increase in the global atmospheric temperature well within 1.5℃ to cut impacts of climate change against the Earth. 
How the Earth’s surface temperature has changed in the last 140 years

Kyoto Protocol
Global warming results from massive greenhouse gas emissions that strengthened the greenhouse effect. To reduce greenhouse gas emissions, the world’s governments agreed that a legally binding protocol was needed to put consensus into practice. Hence, in the third session of the Conference of Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (COP3) in 1997, the Kyoto Protocol was passed to set emission reduction targets for the participating countries. The Kyoto protocol covers six categories of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, carbon dioxide (CO2), methane (CH4), nitrous oxide (N2O), hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs), perfluorocarbons (PFCs) and sulphur hexafluoride (SF6). From 2008 to 2012, either individually or jointly, the contracting states must reduce GHG emissions by 5.2% below 1990 levels. Each country’s circumstances were taken into account to set their own targets. Also, three flexible mechanisms, Joint Implementation (JI), Clean Development Mechanism (CDM), and Emissions Trading (ET), were introduced. The Kyoto Protocol became effective on February 16, 2005. The binding effect makes it a useful environment-protection standard that helps to mitigate the impacts of global climate change. 

Paris Agreement
The 2015 United Nations Climate Change Conference, abbreviated as COP21, was held in Paris, France. On this occasion, the Paris Agreement was passed in succession of the Kyoto Protocol to be the only legally binding agreement on climate change in 2020 and after. The Paris Agreement aims to limit global warming to well below 2℃, preferably to 1.5℃ compared to pre-industrial levels. The contracting states should make Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) and implement bottom-up emission reduction and adaptation policies. They should also strengthen their elasticity for tackling climate change without affecting production of crops, in the meantime developing technologies for low greenhouse gas emissions. Finally, the Paris Agreement advocates proactive mitigation measures in developed countries and financial and technical support for developing countries. 
 
Visit counts:47 Last updated on:2021-11-10

走進大自然
						探索生態之美
走進大自然 探索生態之美

全球暖化與國際協定

:::
工業革命後,人類大量使用化石燃料(fossil fuels),使得大氣中二氧化碳濃度劇增,溫室效應惡化,導致氣候發生變化。學者預估,全球暖化將造成兩極冰冠與高山冰河消融,海岸水位上升,引發新的氣候型態與極端乾旱、降水等現象,並嚴重干擾糧食生產。

由於氣候反應遲緩,加上大氣中的二氧化碳可留存超過一個世紀,即使現今大幅減少化石燃料的使用量,地球還是可能因過去累積的排放量承受嚴重長期暖化的後果,其嚴重性不可忽視。據2018年聯合國跨政府氣候變遷專家委員會(Intergoverment Panel on Climate Change, IPCC)特別報告指出近百年大氣溫度已上升0.8~1.2℃,假若二氧化碳濃度未得改善,推估二十一世紀中的地面溫度將比十九世紀上升達1.5~2℃。其引發效益包含海平面上升、暴雨或乾旱等極端氣候頻仍、水資源分配不均等,並依升溫情形加劇,全球政府應致力於將大氣溫度上升情形控制在1.5℃以內,以減緩氣候變遷對地球環境的衝擊。
過去140年地球表面溫度變化

京都議定書
溫室氣體的大量排放增強溫室效應,造成「全球溫暖化」(Global Warming)現象,為減少溫室氣體的排放量,各國普遍認為需制定具有法律約束力的議定書以落實共識。因此在1997年的第三次氣候變化綱要公約締約國大會(COP3)中,通過「京都議定書」來制定各國溫室氣體排放的減量目標。規範締約國家應以個別或共同方式,確保於2008年至2012年時,承諾將人為排放之二氧化碳(CO2)、甲烷(CH4)、氧化亞氮(N2O)、氫氟碳化物(HFCS)、全氟碳化物(PFCS)、六氟化硫(SF6)等六種溫室氣體排放總量,控制在該國家以1990年的減少排放水準,平均再削減5.2%,並採行差異性削減目標。此外,亦制定「聯合減量(Joint Implementation;JI)」、「清潔發展機制(Clean Development Mechanism;CDM)」及「排放權交易制度(Emissions Trading;ET)」三種彈性機制。京都議定書已正式於2005年2月16日起生效,此效力使其成為實質環保規範,降低全球氣候變化的危害。

巴黎協定
2015年於法國巴憭召開聯合國氣候變化綱要公約第21屆締約國會議(COP21),通過「巴黎協定(Paris Agreement)」以接替「京都議定書」,成為2020後唯一具法律約束力之氣候協議。巴黎協定明訂將全球氣溫升高控制在2℃以內,並努力將氣溫升幅限制在工業化前水平以上1.5℃之內。由締約國提交「國家自定貢獻」(Nationally Determined Contributions, NDCs),採由下而上(bottom-up)的方式施行減量與調適政策,並以不威脅糧食生產的方式增強國家應對氣候變遷之韌性,以及發展低溫室氣體排放之科技;同時提倡已開發國家自主執行減緩措施,並加強對開發中國家資金與技術之支持。
瀏覽人次:3882 最後更新日期:2019-07-24